Tags

, , , , ,

Yes, tonight I caved. I had a craving and gave in. Fall is full of comfort foods…anything sweet potato-ish, apple creations galore, chili, hot cocoa, sweets and treats, family meals. It can be difficult to keep things healthy and nutritious. This one, though, is a winner. My own twist on Chunky Vegetarian Chili. It was a hit with husband and toddler too!

I had picked up a bag of dry beans a couple months ago and it’s been sitting in the pantry, just waiting to be useful. Not just any bag of beans, it has 15 different kinds of beans in it. I didn’t know there were that many! I wanted chili, saw the bag, and thought “why not”! I had guidelines of how much spice to use, but honestly didn’t follow the recipe because the batch was huge. I’ll do my best to remember how much of what I put in!

Ingredients

  • 2 small onions, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 bell peppers, diced (we used one each of red, yellow and orange)
  • 4 carrots, diced
  • 2 giant cans tomato paste (can use stewed or diced, we just don’t like chunky tomatoes)
  • Assortment of beans to desired consistency (we ended up using 3/4 of the bag)
  • 3Tbsp chili powder
  • 3Tbsp brown sugar (organic of course)
  • 2Tbsp cumin
  • 1Tbsp paprika
  • 1.5 Tbsp basil or oregano
  • 1/2 Tbsp Himalayan salt
  • 1/2 Tbsp fresh ground pepper

Soak dry beans overnight. In a big pot sauté the onion, garlic, carrots, and peppers in oil. Add tomato sauce, beans and spices. Simmer for one to two hours. You could also sauté the veggies and then throw everything in a crock pot.

It hit the spot! Can’t wait for leftovers! You KNOW chili is better the second day.

Enjoy! Please let me know if you try it, and how you made it your own.

What is your favorite chilli recipe?

20121016-224422.jpg

