As a healthy, fit and nutritionally sound person, I decided to do the Reset out of curiosity.  I wanted to be able to really explain it to others, and sound knowledgeable.  It intrigued me.  I’ve never taken a supplement other than a vitamin before, and more than half the time I forgot to take those.  Until Shakeology, that is.  I just can’t get enough of that stuff.  Anyway, I digress.  The food looked interesting, and the logic behind the different phases was sound.  Clean, whole foods and whole food based supplements clearing toxins out of the body.  No harsh chemicals, no short term solutions.  So I went for it.

My pre-Reset bloodwork was done a week before Day 1, and gave me a goal.  My HDL was low.  I needed to bring it back up.  The last time I’d had a well check specifically for cholesterol was back in 2006.  I know, I know.  Shame on me.  Since then though, all my levels had dropped dramatically.  The only change I’d made since then?  I had a baby in 2010 who made me eat ice cream during the entire pregnancy.  🙂  But I don’t think that helped.  It was Shakeology, running, and P90X which all led to my new clean eating habits.  I was amazed at these prelim results.

Pre-Reset: Shopping for the Reset was a project in itself.  I met up with a friend who is doing the cleanse with me.  That first trip was extensive.  I bought things I’d never heard of like mirin and wakame, and stuff I’d definitely never cooked with before like Himalayan salt and collard greens.  And cucumbers.  I detest cucumbers.  But I was determined to try everything at least once.  It took two different shopping trips and a stop at the farmer’s market to get everything on the list.  You can also check out the vlog.

Week 1 – Reclaim: Yum!  The meals were excellent!  With one exception involving kelp and cucumbers.  Ugh, I just couldn’t do it.  BUT, everything else was fantastic. It didn’t even take me long to get used to the supplement schedule, which goes something like this…

  • Drink 8-12 oz water with supplements 30 minutes before breakfast
  • Breakfast
  • Wait 30 minutes, then start drinking lots of water over the next 1.5 – 2 hours
  • Drink 8-12 oz water with supplements 30 minutes before breakfast
  • Lunch
  • Wait 30 minutes, then start drinking lots of water over the next 1.5 – 2 hours
  • Drink 8-12 oz water with supplements 30 minutes before optional snack
  • Optional snack
  • Wait 30 minutes, then start drinking lots of water over the next 1.5 – 2 hours
  • Drink 8-12 oz water with supplements 30 minutes before dinner
  • Dinner
  • Wait 30 minutes, then start drinking lots of water over the next 1.5 – 2 hours

I learned that drinking water with meals actually slows digestion, and felt better after meals with the water rule.  My body adjusted quickly to the new schedule and became so much more efficient…I lost 3.5 lbs in the first week!  I was on cloud nine.

Week 2 – Release: We started phasing out animal products in week 1, so in week 2 we were vegetarian.  Still not a huge change.  I didn’t really miss chicken, fish or eggs all that much.  And I don’t usually eat red meat.  There were so many other choices and mixed grain meals.  We also started a new supplement…detox.  It was like a chunky herbal tea.  Once I got past the texture, it was pretty good.  The trick is to keep swirling your glass. 😉  I actually miss detox.

Week 3 – Restore: Revitalize is meant to beef up the beneficial flora in your intestines, turning the body into a nutrient processing machine.  To let the body focus on this, there are no/limited grains and no proteins.  A humongous bowl of fruit for breakfast, a humongous bowl of salad for lunch with the occasional soup, and stir fry’s or roasted veggies for dinner.  By Thursday I was a mess.  Irrational and emotional.  I almost gave in.  I wanted chips.  I don’t like chips.  So Friday night I made brown rice with dinner.  AHHH, the relief!  It was heaven.  No more chip craving.  I was renewed and determined to finish.  Just because of brown rice.  By Sunday, I was dreaming about non-Reset meals.

Post-Reset: We are to add foods back in one at a time.  Since I’d already been eating brown rice again, my first change was to add oatmeal for breakfast.  I’ve also added nuts, and I did have some all natural chips.  🙂  I’m actually looking forward to the occasional egg, but can’t add those back in till two weeks out.  I had one chocolate covered almond left from before the Reset and I ate it yesterday.  It was…okay.  I can’t believe I crave grains more than chocolate.  I was a self-professed chocoholic.

Results: So what happened?  What are the inside readings?  So low that they are off the charts.

  • 5.5 pounds lost
  • 9.75 inches lost
  • 26 pt drop in Total Cholesterol
  • 8 pt drop in Glucose
  • 10 pt drop in HDL
  • LDL and Triglycerides too low to monitor on the free screening I went to

I’m not necessarily happy about the drop in HDL.  My next adventure in health is to bring that back up.  I plan to work on that over the next month and go back for the next screening in September to see how I’ve done.  From what I’ve researched so far I should be able to bring the HDL back up by getting back into my workouts and marathon training, adding grains back in, and sacrificing a lot by eating dark chocolate and drinking wine.  Oh darn.  I think I’m gonna enjoy this month.  🙂  Check back in September to see if it worked!

Before & After

Want to try the Reset for yourself?  I guarantee new healthy habits and lower cholesterol!  Those who have done the Reset with much weight to lose, have lost an average of 20 lbs, dropped their cholesterol by 35 pts (up to 100!), and reduced the amount of medications they take.  Check out the Reset link here or message me at osbornefitness@yahoo.com and I’ll help you get started on the path to being the healthiest you that you can be.

