Tags

, , , , , ,

Ah! I love spring!  It’s my new favorite season, thanks to my new found love for fresh produce.  While I think my garden is doing well, I head to the Farmer’s Markets and am humbled.  I still have a lot to learn.  I WILL get there!

This little beauty is from my garden, and I couldn’t be more excited!  Now if the tomatoes hadn’t died in the deep freeze a couple weeks back, I’d be ecstatic.  I’m still mourning their loss.

At the market last week, I found some awesomely sweet raw local honey.  OH MY GOODNESS!!  I can’t go back to refined honey.  I am now spoiled.  It is going in all my Shakeology recipes and oatmeal.  It is said that raw local honey is great for allergies, and I can’t wait to see how next spring treats me after eating the honey for a year.  Apparently it is a similar theory to vaccines.  The bees bring the local pollen that causes the allergies back to the hive and that is what the honey is made from.  When you eat it, your immune system adjusts to the ingested pollen and your body develops an immunity.  Makes sense.  I’ll keep you posted.  This has been the worst year yet for allergies for me, so I’ll be thrilled if this works.  Has anyone else been doing this?

My favorite Market is finally open.  Can’t wait to head there this Saturday.  I’ll try to remember to take pictures and post here.

