Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Apparently, I was on a squash kick when I went to the store last week. So last night it was acorn squash. I found an inspiration recipe online, took the basics and then made it my own. It was sooo much easier to cut into than the spaghetti squash.

Acorn Squash Trio

Once cut in half, I basted the flesh with agave.  You could also use honey, but I ran out.  Placed them face down on aluminum lined baking sheet and set them in the oven at 375 degrees for 40 minutes.  While they were baking, I started the brown rice.

About 10 minutes before the rice and squash were done, I started cutting and sauteing half a chopped onion, 2 minced garlic cloves, and half a finely chopped apple in about a tablespoon of olive oil.  Once they were all in the pan, I added in 1/2 Tsp cumin, 1/4 cinnamon, and 1/8 tsp ginger, with salt and pepper to taste.

The Good Stuff

Once everything was done, I mixed the onion/apple combo in with the rice and piled them into the acorn squash.

Acorn Squash stuffed with Brown Rice & Apples

David said he liked this one better than the spaghetti squash.  For a first try, it was pretty good.  I’ll make a few tweaks the next time I make it and play around with the spices.  Will actually had leftovers of this for dinner again tonight.  I mixed in about 2 Tbps of all natural original applesauce, and it was even tastier than last night.

