Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

So I went to the store the other day and couldn’t bring myself to buy anything boxed or processed.  That meant my cart was FULL of produce, some that I had NEVER had before.  Time to research the internets and get creative.

Tonight was Spaghetti Squash.  Found a recipe inspiration that I though David would like.  But the instructions said to MICROWAVE the squash for 20 minutes.  REALLY?!  I’m gonna take my fresh, whole, nutrient dense gem of a squash and heat it up in a microwave?  For 20 minutes?  Sorry, I’m looking for a little more June Cleaver inspiration.  Nicole had recently mentioned making Spaghetti Squash, so I called her and she walked me through it.  The biggest pain in the butt was getting the darn thing cut in half. That alone took at least 5 minutes.

Does this thing open?

Once I had that done and the insides scooped out, I brushed the flesh with olive oil and dusted it with salt, pepper, thyme and sage.  May I add that my toddler was running around the kitchen throughout this whole process asking for a drink, and then a cookie, and then he wanted his Thomas cup to play with, and then he dug through the silverware drawer to find his spoon.

After the Squash was prepped, I plopped it on an aluminum lined baking pan and put it in the oven for 45 minutes at 400 degrees.  As baking time was coming to an end, David came downstairs and asked if I needed him to help with anything.  Why sure!  I put him in charge of chopping the garlic, onion, peppers and asparagus.  They all went into a happy skillet with some olive oil and more sage, thyme and rosemary.  Just when that was about done, I pulled out the done squash and started running the fork through it.  That really is a fun, easy process.  After it was spaghetti-fied, I added that to the skillet and mixed everything together.

Making Spaghetti
Yummo!

David topped his helping with his usual Frank’s Red Hot.  Meanwhile, I topped mine and Will’s with a dash of nutmeg and parmesan cheese.

I have to say it was quite tasty.  David said it wasn’t bad, but he prefers his squash to have more of a sweet flavor.  Looks like there may be a next time for the good ole spaghetti squash.

Since I normally post about running and my workouts, I should add that I have once again slacked on the running due to weather.  The ice falling from the sky is clinking against my windows as I type.  I have, however, still been doing P90X every day…and video blogging about it.  Today’s isn’t edited yet, but here’s a peek at yesterdays workout.

